Harmanpreet Kaur named in WBBL-7 Team of the Tournament | Harmanpreet Kaur named in WBBL-7 Team of the Tournament

Digital Desk, Perth. A big record has been added to India’s all-rounder and T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur. She became one of only two international cricketers to be selected in the Women’s Big Bash League-7 (WBBL) tournament squad, playing for the Melbourne Renegades. Cricket Australia announced this on Monday. Joining the list is New Zealand’s Sophie Devine, who plays for the Perth Scorchers, the only other non-Australian cricketer to feature in the WBBL-7 Team of the Tournament, having been named captain of the team.

Harmanpreet played 12 matches for the Renegades this season, scoring 399 runs in 11 innings at an average of 66.5 and a strike rate of 135.25. He scored three half-centuries, with his highest score being an unbeaten 81.

In addition, as a bowler, Harmanpreet took 15 wickets at an average of 20.4, including her best of 3 for 22. Harmanpreet Kaur has been a key player with bat and ball for the Renegades, performing consistently well since joining her new club, cricket.com.au wrote on Monday. He has hit 18 sixes in the competition with the bat, while star leg-spinner Georgia Wareham has also played a key role with the ball in the powerplays following an injury.

A total of eight Indian cricketers took part in this season of WBBL. The Perth Scorchers have secured their place in the final to be played at Optus Stadium in Perth on 27 November, while the team awaits the second finalist. Thanks to Harmanpreet’s all-round performance, The Renegades look to be strong contenders for a place in the finals.

Brisbane Heat will take on the Adelaide Strikers at the Eliminator on 24 November. The winning team will take on Melbourne Renegades at Challenger on 25 November and the team that wins on 25 November will play in the final against the Scorchers. The WBBL-7 tournament squad consists of six players from the Australia team, which were recently included in the international squad. Apart from this, Australians Jess Jonassen, Amanda-Jade Wellington and Grace Harris have also made their place in the team.

The elite panel that selected the team for the tournament includes former Australia players Lisa Sthalekar, Mel Jones and Australia national selector Shaun Flagler. Team includes Beth Mooney (Perth Scorchers), Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades), Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers – captain), Georgia Redmayne (Brisbane Heat – wicketkeeper), Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat), Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers), Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers), Hannah Dalrington (Sydney Thunder), Tayla Vlaminck (Hobart Hurricanes) and Darcy Brown (Adelaide Strikers).



Source link

Leave a Comment